For our next Behind the Desk installment, we’re excited to introduce Ingrid Ospina. Ingrid recently joined our team as the Administrative Support Specialist after Jenna transitioned to a recruiting role. Ingrid has a unique background that has taken her all over the globe (literally)! Read on to learn more about Ingrid, the newest teammate who’ll greet you in the office or speak to you over the phone.

Ingrid sitting behind the office desk

Tell me a little bit about your background 

I am a full-time student at Liberty University, currently studying for my Masters in Professional Mental Health Counseling. I have 2 little girls and have been happily married for 9 years. Though I was born in Colombia, I was raised in NY until the age of 23. After I married I lived in Japan for 3 years with my husband and had my daughter on a Marine base in Okinawa, Japan. In 2015 our family moved to Virginia and we welcomed the arrival of our second daughter. Virginia is very different from New York but for now it’s home.

What was your first job?

I got my first job at the age of 14. I worked at a bagel shop in my hometown in NY on the weekends. This job allowed me to buy my first phone, which I was so excited about!

What excites you most about working in the recruiting industry?

Because I am bilingual I am excited for the opportunity to help those that might not be English speaking and getting them the right resources on getting a job. Since I started working at Matern Staffing I’ve had the opportunity to communicate with many of our Spanish-speaking job candidates. They have been very appreciative of having someone who can speak their language and help them with any questions.

What are your favorite local places to eat?

Some of my favorite places to eat are Metro Diner for breakfast with my family, usually after church on Sunday. Other places I enjoy are Red Robins because of their delicious burgers and Kickback Jacks. In the summer I love taking my kids to Carl’s in downtown Fredericksburg for some ice cream.

What’s your favorite thing to do on the weekends?

The weekends are usually my time to catch up on homework, however when my homework is out of the way I enjoy spending time with friends, watching a movie and going on a dates with my husband. When the weather is nice I love going to the pool and enjoying a nice bbq on my patio.

Do you have any bucket list items for the year?

I love to travel with my family and visit new places. My family is everything to me so as long as I am with them I’m happy. Therefore, one day I would love to see the Northern Lights, go on an adventure cruise, or visit one of the great pyramids in Egypt. Those are just some of the many places I would love to see.

What’s the most played song on your playlist?

I don’t have a favorite yet but lately I’ve been listening to a lot of gospel music, which I find very calming.

Would you rather travel by plane, train, tiny house or automobile and a little bit about why?

I would love to travel by car if I could because it would be more exciting to see the good, the bad, and the ugly as I travel though the different states. However, plane would probably be my go-to because it’s faster.